Mushroom Ketchup

In the 18th century, ketchup was around. However, it wasn’t made with tomatoes. During that period of time it was believed that tomatoes were toxic. Instead, mushrooms were used. Jas. Townsend and Son has a wonderful video detailing this staple of the 18th century.

As with the portable soup I made earlier, I had to attempt mushroom ketchup.

The photos show the various steps involved. I didn’t get two full bottles, but one and about a half bottle.

I hate to admit this, but I haven’t sampled it yet on any meat. I have dipped my finger in the jar and tasted it that way. There’s an earthy mushroom flavor to it. Though there’s not that much vinegar in it, you can taste it, too. It’s subdued though with all the other flavors. All in all, it’s not a bad flavor. I’ll probably make it again.

I took all the solids from the making of the mushroom ketchup and dehydrated them, too. They are ground now and in a container to use as seasoning.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment