One Step Forward

Last night I finished editing chapter 5 and glanced at chapter 6.

No. No. No. I saw it. Something was missing. Oops. I needed a brand new chapter 6. Something that would tie the old chapter 5 to the old chapter 6. Okay. I needed a new chapter 6.

The end result? A short 3 new pages. Just enough to show the reader why the reaction at the end of chapter 5 was a severe as it was for one of the characters.

What was the process like?

stack-of-pages-dc5e238d50309123eae93596ff4af378afe9b76ca6817de9665a1bb26d4adc20

It did feel like that’s how many pages I wrote to get those short 3 pages. I think at one time I’d added an extra ten pages, but in the editing process the extra 7 pages were deleted. Why? They weren’t needed to convey what was necessary at this point. Will the information from those extra pages ever be included? Honestly, I don’t know.

Once my fabulous critique partner reads these pages and gives me her feedback, I’ll know if I took too much out or not. If she comes back with “WTF????” then I’ll know I was too brief. Until then, I won’t know for sure.

Speaking of my amazing critique partner, she has a new book coming out on Monday 16 Oct 2017. I’ll have more about her and the book in the next few days and before you know it, I’ll have her as a guest on this blog.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment